Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.
Taylor County Public Library
Tuesday: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
EDT
Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.

Databases

Expand All
18 results found

Creativebug

Description

Creativebug offers online video arts and crafts workshops and techniques. Learn how to paint, knit, crochet, sew, screen print, and more! To log in, enter tcpl and then your 8 digit library card number.

For a tutorial on how to access this resource, click here!

NoveList

Description

Novelist is an electronic readers' advisory resource that assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. In includes 90,000 full text reviews, over 36,000 subject headings and a complete spectrum of searching options, including searching by title, by author or simply by describing pertinent plot details. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Kentucky Libraries Unbound

Description

Welcome to TCPL's eBook library, brought to you by OverDrive! To log in, you will need your library card number.

For a tutorial on how to use this resource, click here!

TeenBookCloud

Description

TeenBookCloud is an online database of eBooks and educator resources perfect for your middle school, high school, or public library. We offer a robust selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audiobooks. The collection is available online around the clock. No downloads, no waiting! If you can access the internet, you can be reading, watching, or listening to fantastic content.

TumbleBookCloud

Description

TumbleBookCloud (TBC) is an online database of eBooks and educator resources perfect for a middle school, high school, or public library. TBC offers over 1,000 titles in a variety of formats, including ebooks, Graphic Novels, classic literature, National Geographic videos, and audiobooks, and supports a wide range of reading interests and levels.

The collection is available via the Internet around the clock. There are no check-out times, downloads or wait lists. Read, watch or listen with no delays and unlimited access. Scroll through a Graphic Novel on an iPad, read a classic novel on a computer, or listen to an audiobook on a smartphone! This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Scholastic Science Flix

Description

Offering more than 50 complete units of study with over 8,000 science-related assets in a variety of media, ScienceFlix® provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, interactive features and more.

Scholastic Teachables

Description

Scholastic Teachables is your one stop shop for all things education featuring printables, lessons, mini-books, and more! These teacher created lesson plans and activity sheets mean content you'll love from a source you can trust. You can also customize your own crossword puzzles, word searches, bingo sheets, and flash cards! Ready-made collections are designed to accommodate learning requirements for all students. Save your favorite resources to My File Cabinet for easy access 24/7. Search by grade, subject, type, or theme and get started today!

Typically you would pay an annual subscription for this service, but with your Taylor County Public Library card it is 100% free! 

To log in simply enter tcpl and then your 8 digit library card number! 

To watch a video on how to access this resource, click here!

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

Description

Consumer drug information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Description

The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide; topics include medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

KYVL

Description

The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) is a consortium of nearly 300 Kentucky libraries and institutions, including colleges and universities, public libraries, K12 schools, hospitals, Department of Defense libraries, the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives (KDLA), and more.

If you are using KYVL within the library, you have full access to this great resource! If you are accessing KYVL from outside the library, please call us at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Alt-Press Watch

Description

Search full text information on alternate, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including many peer-reviewed journals. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Universal Class

Description

Access over 500 online courses in a variety of subjects! There's something for everyone with Universal Class, including Real Estate, Parenting and Family, Accounting, Spiritual Studies, and hands on DIY classes! To log in enter tcpl and then your 8 digit library card number.

To watch a tutorial on how to access this resource, click here!

Ancestry Library

Description

Enjoy free access to the Ancestry Library archive! This resource is available when connected to the library's wifi or while using one of our public computers. Until the end of 2020, you can enjoy access to this from home via KYVL! Simply give us a call at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and log in. 

Britannica Academic Edition

Description

Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Business Source Premier

Description

Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Disciplines include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Business Searching Interface provides easy browsing of company and industry profiles, as well as country and market research reports. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

College Admissions Test Preparation

Description

Use this resource to prepare for college entrance exams, strengthen your essay writing skills, and more!

Once you click throuhg this link, you will need to either sign in using an existing account, or create a new account with a username and password of your choice.

ERIC

Description

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.

Explora Educator's Edition

Description

Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. This collection is part of Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL.) To access from home, please call the library at (270) 465-2562 to request the username and password.